Sunday Post #150

November 1, 2015 Sunday Post 54

sunday post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.
It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

What happened this week?

Phew this was a busy week, with lots of work, blogging and a visit to the dentist. It’s nice having a busier week again with Lola’s Blog Tours with a new blog tour and a review opportunity and finishing up some marketing assistant work. Although it did mean I didn’t got as many posts written this week to count for Blog Ahead as I would’ve liked, still I did pretty well and ended the month with 39 posts scheduled and 25 posts written for november and later this month.

Michelle from Because Reading designed the banner for my new feature, Lola’s Advice, that’s starting in 2016 and I can’t wait to show it to you. It’s perfect for the feature. I wasn’t sure what to add to the banner beside the text and the pony, so I let Michelle came up with it and the pony has now a pencil in her hand, like I am writing advice down. It’s pretty awesome.

We bought Shaun the Sheep the Movie last week and watched it on saturday evening, it was such a great movie and I’ll review it next week. I loved it, it was such a funny movie and it was made very well. I think it isn’t released on dvd in america yet though. We finished watching Star Trek Voyager which I also will review on the blgo soon. We now started watching Star Trek Deep Space 9, I thought the first episode was totally out there and a bad start of the season, but the rest of the episodes have been enjoyable so far. Although I really don’t like Kira, the other characters seem okay so far. I am especially curious how the doctor character will develop over the series as I have the feeling he’s the type of character that will show a lot of change in the series.

And I bought a new program this week, it’s called JPEGmini. I saw it on Nosegraze her blog and it sounded handy. Basically it makes your image files smaller while keeping the quality the same. The bigger the file, the bigger the difference in size. I am slowly converting most of the pictures on my computer, it really makes a difference. Even though I am not running out of space yet, it’s still nice to have the extra space available. It also help when uploading images for the web. Or when sending out pictures as e-mail attachments. On their site you can upload an image and see for yourself how it works. You can also resize images and they retain their quality. All in all it’s well worth the 20$ I paid for it.

Blog Ahead 2015
I started this challenge with 33 posts scheduled. I hope to end with at least 40. I actually reached my goal and ended this month with 40 posts scheduled, yay! Got the last posts done on 31 October, but hey it was before midnight so it still counts.

Total amount of posts written for this challenge: 26

Posts I wrote this week for this challenge:
– Sunday Post #150 – November 1, 2015
– Review: Shaun the Sheep the Movie – November 3, 2015
– Review: Star Trek Voyager – November 9, 2015
– Blogger Shame Review Challenge: goal post – December 16, 2015
– Blogger Shame Review Challenge: First Quarterly Recap – March 31, 2016
– Review: Deceptions (Cainsville #3) by Kelley Armstrong – November 16, 2015
– My To-Be Read List #15: poll – November 7, 2015
– Review: Submerged (The Clockwork Siren #2) by Katie Hayoz – November 10, 2015
– Bookish Resolution Challenge: November Recap – November 30, 2015
– Lola’s Advice: How to build your Online Pressence – March 7, 2016

Random Picture(s) of the Week

shaun the sheep movie
My boyfriend bought us the dvd of Shaun the Sheep the Movie. We already watched it and it was a lot of fun.

star wars t-shirt
I mentioned last week that I went shoping with my mom, I foudn this star wars t-shirt at the Primark. I didn’t have a star wars shirt yet, so I had to have this one. And the material is very soft and comfy.

What did I cook for dinner this week?

This week I blogged about:

Cover Reveal: Collision by Emma L Adams
Review: I’d Rather be a Witch by Erin Hayes
Lola’s Ramblings: What Makes for a Good Setting?
Bookish Resolutions Challenge: October Recap
Lola’s Kitchen: Sugar Cinnamon Pumpkin Cookies Recipe
Review: Blood Tide by CJ Matthews

What to expect next week on the blog:

– Review: Winter Wedding Bells
– Review: Shaun the Sheep the Movie
– Lola’s Ramblings: Love Triangles
– Lola’s Kitchen: Hazelnut Paste Cookies recipe
– My to-be Read List #15: poll

Tours open for sign-up on Lola’s Blog Tours:

Review Opportunities:
Love Spell by Mia Kerick
Son of Set (Descendants of Isis #2) by Kelsey Ketch
The Cursed Ground by A. Roy King
3volve and The Shadow of Loss by Josefina Gutierrez
Link by Summer Wier
A Bramble House Christmas by CJ CarmichaelNew!
Check the full list of open review opportunities here.

Cover Reveals:
Deliverance by Kristy Centeno – 16 November

Tours:
Book Blitz: Mischief Under the Mistletoe – runs from 17 till 23 November
Book Blitz: Sonar the Cyclone by B Truly – runs from 30 november till 4 December
Amanda Lester and the Pink Sugar Conspiracy by Paula Berinstein – 30 November till 13 December – New!
Blog Tour: Pretty Little Creatures by Vince Milam – runs from 1 till 14 December
Book Blitz: Sparked by Sheena Snow – runs from 16 till 22 December

Book Haul:

My Kind of WonderfulMy Kind of Wonderful (Cedar Ridge #2)
by Jill Shalvis

Format: e-copy
Source: for review through netgalley
You can find My Kind of Wonderful on Goodreads

Blurb:
Unexpected and Undeniable . . .

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she’s determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn’t realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn’t want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn’t the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she’s not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family’s resort, Hud thinks he’s seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he’s been missing far too long. Now he’ll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

Walk Through FireWalk Through Fire (Chaos #4)
by Kristen Ashley

Format: e-copy
Source: won in giveaway
You can find Walk Through Fire on Goodreads

Blurb:
Millie Cross knows what it’s like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn’t be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie’s chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can’t ignore. And this time, she won’t let him ride off . . .

Bad boy Logan “High” Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she’s just a ghost of her former self. High’s intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn’t want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie’s betrayal, he’ll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

collision 500Collision (Alliance #3)
by Emma L. Adams

Format: e-copy
Source: for review
You can find Collision on Goodreads

Blurb:
When Earth suddenly gains inexplicably high levels of magic, all fingers point at the Alliance.

On a distant world, where magic-fuelled forces of nature rule over humans, a disaster is sweeping the land, threatening to knock the Balance across the Multiverse out of sync. When Kay and Ada are sent there with the other Ambassadors, they’re thrown into the centre of chaos. Nature is alive, and angry.

Ada embraces the magic she still half-fears, but learning to control it proves harder than she can imagine. Kay, meanwhile, becomes more reckless than ever when testing the boundaries of his own abilities. When faced with living magic, no one is safe from its influence. Ada and Kay must choose what they’re willing to risk for the sake of saving a world that might already be doomed. Can mortals overcome the gods?

The Soldiers WifeThe Soldier’s Wife
by Pamela Hart

Format: paperback
Source: won in a giveaway on Maureen’s Books
You can find The Soldier’s Wife on Goodreads

Blurb:
Ruby and Jimmy Hawkins are sure their love will last forever, despite Jimmy being sent to Gallipoli only weeks after their marriage. Amid the desperate battles of the Dardanelles, Jimmy dreams of the future they planned together and writes Ruby letters full of love and longing.

Back in Sydney, Ruby must face challenges she never could have imagined as a young country bride. Finding a place in the city and taking a job as a bookkeeper in a timber merchant’s yard, she discovers that working in a man’s world is fraught with complications, especially when her employer suffers a devastating loss and she is expected to take the reins.

When Jimmy returns wounded in both body and spirit, he and Ruby come close to losing everything in the aftermath of war. They must find a new way to live and to love if their marriage is to survive.

NexisNexis (Tricksters #1)
by A.L. Davroe

Format: e-copy
Source: for review through netgalley
You can find Nexis on Goodreads

Blurb:
In the domed city of Evanescence, appearance is everything. A Natural Born amongst genetically-altered Aristocrats, all Ella ever wanted was to be like everyone else. Augmented, sparkling, and perfect. Then…the crash. Devastated by her father’s death and struggling with her new physical limitations, Ella is terrified to learn she is not just alone, but little more than a prisoner.

Her only escape is to lose herself in Nexis, the hugely popular virtual reality game her father created. In Nexis she meets Guster, a senior player who guides Ella through the strange and compelling new world she now inhabits. He offers Ella guidance, friendship…and something more. Something that allows her to forget about the “real” world, and makes her feel whole again.

But Nexis isn’t quite the game everyone thinks it is.

And it’s been waiting for Ella.

Surviving IceSurviving Ice (Burying Water #4)
by K.A. Tucker

Format: paperback
Source: bought it
You can find Surviving Ice on Goodreads

Blurb:
Ivy, a talented tattoo artist who spent the early part of her twenties on the move, is finally looking for a place to call home. She thinks she might have found it in San Francisco, but all that changes when she witnesses a terrible crime. She’s ready to pack up her things yet again, when a random encounter with a stranger keeps her in the city, giving her reason to stay after all.

That is, until Ivy discovers that their encounter wasn’t random. Not at all…

Dark heart of magicDark Heart of Magic (Black Blade #2)
by Jennifer Estep

Format: paperback
Source: bought it
You can find Dark Heart of Magic on Goodreads

Blurb:
Something Wicked This Way Comes…

As a thief, I stick to the shadows as much as possible. But when the head of the Sinclair Family picks me to compete in the Tournament of Blades, there’s no escaping the spotlight—or the danger.

Even though he’s my competition, Devon Sinclair thinks I have the best shot at winning what’s supposed to be a friendly contest. But when the competitors start having mysterious “accidents,” it looks like someone will do anything to win—no matter who they hurt.

As if I didn’t have enough to worry about, mobster Victor Draconi is plotting against Devon and the rest of my friends, and someone’s going around Cloudburst Falls murdering monsters. One thing’s for sure. Sometimes, humans can be more monstrous than anything else…

54 Responses to “Sunday Post #150”

  1. Trish @ Between My Lines

    Sounds like a good week (apart from the dentist!). I’m looking forward to your new feature and to seeing that banner, I’m assuming it’s an advice series which I love reading. I’m starting something similar in December but mine is an A to Z of blogging tips and I’m having a lot of fun writing it.
    I haven’t bought Surviving Ice yet but will do so soon. I can’t to hear Ivy’s story.
    Trish @ Between My Lines recently posted…The Sunday Post : Get your Bookish News #91My Profile

    • Lola

      The dentist wasn’t fun, I am always really anxious about going to the dentist and then he wanted us to make another appointment and I was a bit angry he didn’t tell us in advance, so he made time to fit our cleaning appointment in on the same day as well. So I am glad that’s all done now and no more dentist for the next half year, but it was stressfull.

      Yes the new feature is called Lola’s Advice, forgot to mention that in the post. It’s mainly aimed at authors, but I include a piece for bloggers in every post as well. I already have 4 posts scheduled so far and really exicted to share them. I am looking forward to your blogging tips post! I always find how to and posts with tips fun to read, there’s always more to learn.

      When I was reading Burying Water I knew I would want to continue the series and ordered the next two books and pre-ordered Surviving Ice as pressent to myself. Now let’s hope I can read those 3 books soon!

  2. Red Iza

    I’d love to watch Sean the Sheep, I’m a huge fan of Wallace & Gromit ! I remember when I started watching Deep space 9, my eldest daughter was still a baby and she used to “dance” in her high baby chair at the sound of the theme song 🙂 I hope youre having a restful week-end after this busy week !

    • Lola

      I haven’t watched Wallace and Gromit yet, but if it’s as good as Shaun the Sheep I’ll have to check it out eventually. We’re enjoying Deep Space 9 so far. That’s fun your duaghter recognized the theme song and danced when she heard it.
      Next week will be likely just as busy if not more, I am starting a big project for marketing assistant work this month and I am hoping to get quite some work done this week on it.
      Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #150My Profile

  3. Wattle

    I look forward to reading your review of the Shaun the Sheep movie, it looks like good fun!

    It sounds like you’ve had a busy week, I’m totally curious about your new feature!

    Enjoy all your new books 🙂
    Wattle recently posted…Showcase Sunday #34My Profile

    • Lola

      It was a great movie and we really enjoyed watching it. It’s a lot of fun.

      My new feature will be called Lola’s Advice, it will be a once monthly feature and will mainly focus on tips for authors and I add a piece for bloggers in every post as well. So far I am having a lot of fun writing the posts.

  4. chucklesthescot

    I haven’t had the chance to watch the Shaun the Sheep film yet. I’m so far behind on everything! I have big plans to get a pile of things done this winter which means more reading and more films/TV episodes! I need to get some order in my chaos this winter! Have a good week!
    chucklesthescot recently posted…Spooky Booky Month Final UpdateMy Profile

    • Lola

      I hope you’ll enjoy the Shaun the Sheep movie ocne you get around to watching it! I don’t watch a lot of movies or tv series, but I really wanted to watch this movie as I love shaun the sheep. And we’re watching one tv series episode a day during dinner nowadays.

  5. laura thomas

    I have a lot of dental work coming up. At least four more visits. I’m not crazy about it but love the happy mouth afterwards:) So many awesome books this week. I’m loving the cover art! You’re doing great on blogging ahead. I was doing good but then something happened? Now I’m scrambling to catch up in November. LOL
    laura thomas recently posted…What’s New On My Bookshelf #134 and The Sunday PostMy Profile

    • Lola

      Just the thought of so many visits scares me, I had a lot of cavities last year and had to return twice and it was horrible, so I can’t imagine having to return four times, *shudders*. Good luck!
      Yeah lots of great covers this week! I am glad I got a lot of posts done for Blog Ahead, but still have some November and December posts to write too.
      Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #150My Profile

  6. Berls

    Sounds like a pretty great week (minus the dentist, that’s never fun!). I want to see Shaun the Sheep – I don’t think it’s out here yet though.

    Congrats on the blog ahead challenge! I wish I were as organized as you – right now I’m just happy when I have 1 post scheduled lol! Have a great week Lola 🙂
    Berls recently posted…Sunday Post | Halloween FunMy Profile

    • Lola

      I think half/ end November it will be released on dvd in the US? I was grabbing the link from amazon to use in my review so that’s when I saw it wasn’t released there. It’s a great movie!

      You’re very busy with your job, so I can imagine having one post scheduled is already amazing then. I try very hard to stay ahead as it’s less stresfful for me that way.

  7. Michelle@Because Reading

    You are very welcome 🙂 I was very happy to be able to help you with it!

    You are doing awesome with all the organizing, I am a little more behind than I would like but I am getting there. Just have a lot on my mind and it’s causing a clutter in my head. I think I need a break for a day or two to clear my brains. lol

    My son loves Shaun the Sheep, it’s on his list of things to get from Santa, we can’t wait to watch it 🙂

    Have a great week Lola! Happy Reading! ox
    Michelle@Because Reading recently posted…Happy Day After Halloween~ WIR & TSPMy Profile

    • Lola

      I am really happy with the banner and now have 4 posts scheduled for the feature. I love your banner designs 🙂

      I had hoped to do more Lola’s ramblings and Lola’s Kitchen posts, but I am happy with the progress I made. Havign clutter in your head is annoying, I had a few days like that too, makes it hard to focus. I hope you can take a break and feel better after that!

      I hope you’ll enjoy the Shaun the Sheep movie! We really enjoyed it, it’s so funny and has a good plot and characters too. I hope you have a great week too!

    • Lola

      Both Tucker and Estep were pre-orders that arrived this week! I hope I’ll enjoy both books! Blog Ahead is always a big help, I am so thankfull to you and Anna for hosting it!
      Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #150My Profile

  8. Greg

    That’s an awesome Star Wars shirt! 🙂

    Will watch for your Star Trek reviews, as you don’t see too many of those. I think revisiting those shows would be fun.
    Greg recently posted…Sunday Post #115My Profile

    • Lola

      I was surprised to see that star wars shirt in a shop, I am happy to own a star wars shirt now. I never watched them before now. So we’re slowly making our way through the series. I really enjoyed Voyager, maybe next year we finally finish Deep Space 9, it’s slow going.

    • Lola

      Thanks! I am glad with how much I got done during Blog Ahead. I have only read the first book in the series so far and I enjoyed it so much I ordered the next two books and pre-ordered Surviving Ice, I am looking forward to continue the series.

  9. Kathy

    I loved watching Star Trek Voyager but I didn’t like Deep Space 9. I ended up not finishing the series. I can’t wait to see your new banner. I’ve been thinking of asking Michelle to make me some new ones, but waiting until next year. I hope you have a great week and enjoy your new books!
    Kathy recently posted…Weekly Wrap-Up #75My Profile

    • Lola

      Oh why didn’t you like Deep Space 9? We watched the first 8 episodes only so far, which were good, but I also heard another blogger mention it got less good later on. So now I am bit worried.

      Michelle is an awesome designer, she’s always quick to respond to my questions and I love her designs. I am really happy with my new banner and can’t wait to show it to everyone in january!

  10. Nise'

    I’ve got a visit to the dentist tomorrow. I’ve had terrible pain all weekend and fear it will be a crown that is needed. Looking forward to Cedar Ridge #2! Congrats on your Blog Ahead success Have a great week.
    Nise’ recently posted…Weekly Reading Wrap UpMy Profile

    • Lola

      I agree it’s nice to be ahead, I feel less stressed when I am ahead, although I hoped to get some more posst written I am happy with the progress I made.

    • Lola

      Same here, I dislike seeing doctors, but dentists maybe even more. I don’t have had such a bad experience with the dentist as you did, but I always feel anxious when I have to go to the dentist. Damn that must’ve been horrible to get a fractured jaw from the surgery.

  11. Sophia Rose

    Yes, that does sound like a busy week. I watch Star Trek Voyager when it first showed and now I don’t remember much about it. Sadly, I never watched Deep Space Nine. Guess I have a series to watch eventually. 😉

    Cute Star Wars shirt and even better that it’s soft to the touch.

    Amazing book haul. And nice job getting some extra posts in for the Blog Ahead. Look forward to seeing your new banner, too.
    Have a good week!
    Sophia Rose recently posted…Yours Forevermore, Darcy by KaraLynne MackroryMy Profile

    • Lola

      After my boyfriend got me to watch Star Wars two years ago, he’s now trying to get me to watch other sci-fi series as well. I really enjoyed Star Trek Voyager and so far Deep Space 9 is enjoyable as well.

      The star wars t-shirt is very comfy and it’s star wars I just couldn’t resist.

      I really should try to get fewer books these upcoming weeks, the past few weeks I got lots of new books.

  12. Jan @ Notes from a Readerholic

    It sounds like a busy week, Lola. Dentist visits are no fun. I’ve been putting off going to the dentist and need to get an appointment soon. I’ll look forward to your new banner and feature. Shaun the Sheep and the Star Wars shirt both look great.

    You got lots of good looking books so I hope you have a great week reading some of them!
    Jan @ Notes from a Readerholic recently posted…Sci-Fi Month–Nov 2015My Profile

  13. Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    I hope the dentist treated you well, Lola! Your week sounds just the right kind of busy, too. Work, but not so much you got stressed out about it is good!
    Your book haul is awesome! I have read several of them already, and I loved them (My Kind of Wonderful, Walk Through Fire, Surviving Ice…).
    The JPEGmini sounds great, I should look into that myself, maybe it’ll be my Christmas present from me to me 😉
    Have a great week and happy reading.
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews recently posted…Review: Love Evolution – Michelle MankinMy Profile

    • Lola

      I am not a fan of our dentist, but at leats we got both the cleaning and controle done at once, while at first he wanted us to make another appointment for that. It was the right kind of busy indeed, very producitve, but not too stressful.

      I am currently readign My Kind of Wonderfull and really enjoying it so far. I still have some earlier books in the series to read first before I can read Walk Through Fire and Surviving Ice.

      I am really happy with JPEGmini. I often get big cover sizes for my tours and now I can decrease the size of the files before sending them and they still look the same. I also resized some pictures, but not all yet.
      Lola recently posted…Review: Winter Wedding Bells by Karen Rock, Jennifer Snow and Kristin RolofsonMy Profile

    • Lola

      I am glad to hear you’re better now! I have to grab some of the earlier books in the series first before I can read this Kristen Ashley book, but I was so excited to win it!

    • Lola

      I thought Shaun the Sheep the movie was fun and it’s definitely good for all ages. I hope you can see it once it releases there! I hate going to the dentist, I know it’s necessary, but I am always scared when I go to the dentist.

    • Lola

      No the dentist wasn’t fun, ugh I hate going to the dentist. You didn’t like Walk Through Fire? I have to buy and read the earlier books in this series first before I can start on this book.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge