Sunday Post #149

October 25, 2015 Sunday Post 44

sunday post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.
It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

What happened this week?

This was a nice busy and productive week! I got a lot of blogging done, I had a new tour with Lola’s Blog Tours that I set up and got some cooking and baking done. I focussed on getting some posts written for Blog Ahead, set up some recap posts for the end of next year, tweaked some posts that I already had scheduled and wrote some full lenght new posts as well. Sunday a new book blitz at Lola’s Blog Tours went live and I worked on a new blog tour this week as well.

On friday my mom and her husband visited and we went shopping. It was a lot of fun and I got some new t-shirts, socks and pyjama’s for the winter. We bought soem lunch while we were shopping and catched up. And I got a mix to make cookies, there’s a picture of it below.

And Michelle from Because Reading Is Better Than Real Life featured me over on her blog. I did a guest post about book and monsters focussed on mermaids. It was a lot of fun talking about why I love mermaids and I featured two mermaid books I read recently and enjoyed. Big thanks for Michelle for havign me ove ron her blog.

Blog Ahead 2015
I started this challenge with 33 posts scheduled. I hope to end with at least 40.

Total amount of posts written for this challenge: 16

Posts I wrote this week for this challenge:
– Lola’s Kitchen: Pumpkin and Apple Risotto Recipe – 13 November 2015
– Lola’s Advice: Need Help with Goodreads? – 4 April 2016
– Lola’s Ramblings: Ten Random Things about How I Celebrate(d) Christmas – 24 December 2015
– Lola’s Kitchen: Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Cookies Recipe – 30 October 2015
while the date says october, I moved the post I had scheduled for that day to next month, so I still ended up with on more post scheduled, but as this is the post I wrote I thought it would make most sense to list this one
– 2016 Pick your Genre Reading Challenge: goal post – 16 December 2015
– 2016 Pick your Genre Reading Challenge: recap post – 27 December 2016 – I always made my recap post for a challenge when I set up the goal post as well, as I prefer to have that scheduled and then update it each time I read a book in that counts
– Lola’s Ramblings: Best Books I Read in 2016 – 31 December 2016 – I like to set up some end of the year posts early so I can add books when applicable
– Lola’s Ramblings: Books I DNF in 2016 – 28 December 2016 – I like to set up some end of the year posts early so I can add books when applicable
– Lola’s Ramblings: Where do You Read? – 26 November 2015
– Review: Winter Wedding Bells by Karen Rock, Jennifer Snow and Kristin Rolofson – 2 November 2015

Random Picture(s) of the Week

Salad
Dinner friday evening! It’s an italian salad, which I bought at our supermarket. It’s nice when I want a simply and yummy dinner and don’t want to cook for a day. This salad contains lettuce, sundried tomatoes, cheese, pumpkin seeds and a delicious pesto dressing.

Koekje van Eigen Deeg - cookie mix
The cookie mix my mom bought me while we were shopping on friday. You only have to add the wet ingredients put it in the frigde for a bit and bake them, I am looking forward to trying these. The text says “Koekje van Eigen Deeg” which literally translated means Cookie from your own Dough. The same text can also be used as a proverb.

Banana pudding
I saw this banana pudding with chocolate sauce while grocery shopping, it was a flavour I hadn’t seen before and the Mona brand puddings were discounted so I grabed it. My boyfriend and I ate it yesterday evening and it was really good. It had a rich banana flavour, definitely will be buying this one again!

What did I cook for dinner this week?

  • Sunday: leftover Japanese Curry
  • Monday: Pumpkin and Apple Risotto
  • Tuesday: leftover Pumpkin and Apple Risotto
  • Extra: Pumpkin Cookies
  • Extra: Pumpkin Soup
  • Wednesday: storebought Pizza
  • Thursday: Mashed Potatoes with corn and veggie burger
  • Friday: Storebought salad
  • Saturday: Korma

This week I blogged about:

Review: Stars Wars the Phantom Menace by Terry Brooks
Review: Ink by Melanie Karsak
Lola’s Ramblings: What Makes for Good World Building?
Lola’s Kitchen: Puff Pastry with Cinnamon Sugar
Review: Flipped for Murder by Maddie Day

What to expect next week on the blog:

– Cover Reveal: Collision by Emma L Adams
– Review: I’d Rather be a Witch by Erin Hayes
– Lola’s Ramblings: What Makes for a Good Setting?
– Lola’s Kitchen: Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Cookies Recipe
– Review: Blood Tide by CJ Matthews

Tours open for sign-up on Lola’s Blog Tours:

Review Opportunities:
The Other Side of Summer by Elyse Douglas
The Case and Hard Case by Marc Hirsch
Love Spell by Mia Kerick
Son of Set (Descendants of Isis #2) by Kelsey Ketch
The Cursed Ground by A. Roy King
3volve and The Shadow of Loss by Josefina Gutierrez
Link by Summer Wier
Check the full list of open review opportunities here.

Cover Reveals:
Collision by Emma L. Adams – 26 October
Deliverance by Kristy Centeno – 16 November

Tours:
Book Blitz: Mischief Under the Mistletoe – runs from 17 till 23 November
Book Blitz: Sonar the Cyclone by B Truly – runs from 30 november till 4 December
Blog Tour: Pretty Little Creatures by Vince Milam – runs from 1 till 14 December – New!
Book Blitz: Sparked by Sheena Snow – runs from 16 till 22 December – New!

Book Haul:

RevealedRevealed (The Nogiku Series #5)
by S.J. Pajonas

Format: e-copy
Source: for review
You can find Revealed on Goodreads

Blurb:
Come back to the Nogiku world with Jiro Itō and Mark Sakai as they live the events of REMOVED from their perspective. Secrets, lies, and cover-ups are all in a day’s work for Jiro and Mark, but when Sanaa Griffin enters their world, truths emerge, plans fall by the wayside, and enemies come out of the shadows. How does Mark veer so far off course while training Sanaa? And how does Jiro win back his family’s loyalty after losing their trust? If you loved the Nogiku Series, REVEALED will uncover the details behind all the action and reveal the future life of Sanaa and Jiro on Yūsei. Don’t miss this companion novel to the four books of The Nogiku Series!

Note: This is a companion novel and should be read after RECLAIMED, Book Four of The Nogiku Series. If you read the REVEALED short stories, Parts 1, 2, and 3 are the first 14 chapters of this book. All the rest (32 chapters total) is brand-new material. This novel is 80,000 words.

The Masked TruthThe Masked Truth
by Kelley Armstrong

Format: paperback
Source: bought it myself
You can find The Masked Truth on Goodreads

Blurb:
Riley Vasquez is haunted by the brutal murder of the couple she was babysitting for.

Max Cross is suffering under the shadow of a life-altering diagnosis he doesn’t dare reveal.

The last thing either of them wants is to spend a weekend away at a therapy camp alongside five other teens with “issues.” But that’s exactly where they are when three masked men burst in to take the group hostage.

The building has no windows. The exits are sealed shut. Their phones are gone. And their captors are on a killing spree.

Riley and Max know that if they can’t get out, they’ll be next—but they’re about to discover that even escape doesn’t equal freedom.

SubmergedSubmerged (The Clockwork Siren #2)
by Katie Hayoz

Format: e-copy
Source: bought it with amazon gift card money
You can find Submerged on Goodreads

Blurb:
Lure it out. Catch it. Kill it.

Melusine Doré knows exactly how to handle monsters. Love, however, is another matter. Though she is doing her best to live her happily ever after, Melusine begins to doubt Levi’s devotion and worries the curse that once made her a siren will return.

When Melusine and Levi go hunt a beast down South, Melusine’s deepest fear becomes a reality as she finds herself in exactly the place where all her troubles began: home. There, Melusine must face the dark secrets and lies of her family’s past—and the very real possibility that she is more monster than maiden.

Novella number two in the Immersed series, Submerged by Katie Hayoz takes us from the muddy trenches of steampunk Chicago to the sticky swamps of Louisiana to the slippery side of love.

Risky TideRisky Tide (Dolphin Shore Shifters #2)
by C.J. Matthew

Format: e-copy
Source: for review
You can find Risky Tide on Goodreads

Blurb:
The Santa Barbara Channel holds a closely guarded secret…

They sent her in unprepared…
Katherine expected more than a welcome handshake and a name badge after surviving a shark attack before she arrived at SBW headquarters. But due to the recent violence she is sent along to join the Exchange Team without training to handle the midnight break-ins at an Orlando marine mammal park. Things turn bad when the memory of almost dying in the mouth of a Great White triggers a panic attack, forcing the team leader to suspend the exchange schedule.

He didn’t need an untrained team…
Peal is a SBW Team Leader with more problems than answers. A polluted lagoon, dead dolphins, and two new team members….one, a trigger-happy transfer he doesn’t trust, one, a dark-haired beauty he can’t stop thinking about. And as if that wasn’t enough, the mob doesn’t like Peal staking-out the lagoon they’ve been dumping medical waste in and sends in their hitman to stop the SBW Team.
Time is running out…
If Peal can manage to keep them alive, he still has to convince Katherine they can have more than just one passionate night together. But SBW might have something to say about that as any minute Katherine could be transferred, pulled out of Peal’s life forever.

The lady who lived againThe Lady Who Lived Again (Soul Survivor #1)
by Thomasine Rappold

Format: e-copy
Source: for review through Netgalley
You can find The Lady Who Lived Again on Goodreads

Blurb:
Madeleine Sutter was once the belle of the ball at the popular resort town of Misty Lake, New York. But as the sole survivor of the community’s worst tragedy, she’s come under suspicion. Longing for the life she once enjoyed, she accepts a rare social invitation to the event of the season. Now she will be able to show everyone she’s the same woman they’d always admired—with just one hidden exception: she awoke from the accident with the ability to heal.

Doctor Jace Merrick has fled the failures and futility of city life to start anew in rural Misty Lake. A man of science, he rejects the superstitious chatter surrounding Maddie and finds himself drawn to her confidence and beauty. And when she seduces him into a sham engagement, he agrees to be her ticket back into society, if she supports his new practice—and reveals the details of her remarkable recovery. But when his patients begin to heal miraculously, Jace may have to abandon logic, accept the inexplicable—and surrender to a love beyond reason…

44 Responses to “Sunday Post #149”

  1. Trish @ Between My Lines

    Lola, that’s an excellent idea about setting up best of posts for Dec 2016. I’m going to do that now, it will be so handy to just add in as I go. Thanks for that tip.
    Your Italian salad looks yummy too, so handy to buy prepared ones when you want something in a hurry.
    Have a good week and I hope you love your new books!
    Trish @ Between My Lines recently posted…The Sunday Post : Get your Bookish News #90My Profile

    • Lola

      It almost feels like cheating to get those end of 2016 posts already scheduled, but for me it really helps to have them scheduled ahead and then add books to them as I go.

      Yes some days I like not having to cook and this salad is perfect for those days. It’s really good too.

    • Lola

      I don’t read a lot of mysteries or thriller books, but I have to read The Masked Truth because Kelley Armstrong wrote it. I read soem great reviews about it, so I am really excited for this one.

  2. Michelle@Because Reading

    I was thinking of that this time around since i have my end of year posts to do. Next year I think I will write them half way through the year so I don’t forget anything by the end of the year 🙂

    You are doing awesome with Blog Ahead. This week I didn’t have a lot of time to blog and this month I have been doing so much for October I didn’t realize how much I had to get done. I really need to try for next year to be a month ahead it would be so much easier to do stuff if I was.

    I can’t wait for your Pumpkin and Apple Risotto Recipe I love Risotto and I have been looking for one with Pumpkins and Apples! YUM!

    Thanks for being on my blog this week! It was awesome of you to do it for me! I am loving the response and all the posts you all came up with!

    Have a great week, Lola! Happy Reading! ox
    Michelle@Because Reading recently posted…Week in Read-view & The Sunday ~ Awesome Blog week!My Profile

    • Lola

      It really helps to get started on those end of the year posts early on, I always set up my best books of the year post at the beginning of each year and then when I review a 5 star book I add it to the post. At the end of the year I only have to double check that everything looks good.

      I did a lot of less work posts this week, but still it’s been nice to see progress. I wish I had been more ahead with my october posts already as I still had to do a lot of those and else I might have gotten even more done.

      At first I wans’t going to do a seperate post for it, but then I changed my mind and as my original risotto recipe was so long ago and this one is very different I thought it would be fun to share it on the blog. I love risotto too and the pumpkin and apple variation is so good for this time of the year.

      Thanks for having me over on your blog! It was a lot of fun to write the post and I enjoyed seeing everyone’s reponses.

    • Lola

      Blog Ahead is always so motivating, it makes me want to do better and schedule more posts than normal. I am hoping this week I’ll get a few more posts written.

      I’ll make a picture when I try out the cookie mix!

    • Lola

      It can be hard to stay ahead, my struggle is mostly with the review posts, with the rest I am doing pretty okay. I always like to do a few end of the year recap posts, I try come up with a new posts each year to add to my list I normally do. The DNF recap is new this year.

    • Lola

      Tanks! I am glad you like the pony. A friend of mine designed the pony and a blogging friend designed all my banners.
      The cookie dough mix sounds good and it seems really easy to make, so I’ll be trying it out soon! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

    It sounds like you’ve had a very busy, but good week, Lola. I loved your mermaid post at Michelle’s blog, and I’m so happy you enjoyed Immersed, and even happier to see that you got Submerged this week. I have it as well, but I haven’t read it yet 🙂
    You’ve done very well on the blog ahead challenge!
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful week ahead, with some good books to read.
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews recently posted…The Sunday Post #55 – Fall Back, Slow Down, Change TimeMy Profile

    • Lola

      I am glad you enjoyed my mermaid posts on Michelle her blog, I had a lot of fun writing it. I am currently reading Submerged, the book I started wasn’t grabbing me and I didn’t know what to read and then I went to amazon and grabbed Submerged as I knew I would enjoy that one. So far it’s good.
      I hope I can get a few more posts written this week, so I will reach my goal to end with 40 posts ahead. I already got two more posts done today, so only a few more left to write.

    • Lola

      I am happy to hear you like my recipe posts! They are fun to do. I am hoping to reach the 20 posts ahead at the end of this week. The blog ahead challenge is so motivational and I am glad I got so many posts written.
      Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #149My Profile

    • Lola

      The packaging of the cookie mix is really neat, it would make a great gift indeed. I am hoping to try it out soon. The pudding was really good, might have to buy it again next week, yum!

  4. Greg

    Good bloggy weeks are always satisfying, aren’t they? 🙂 Both the pesto/ salad and cookie mix look good. Are you excited about the Star Wars trailer? I have to say it looks good although I’m trying hard not to get too carried away.

    Liked your post over at Michelle’s.

    Have a super week. 🙂
    Greg recently posted…Sunday Post #114My Profile

    • Lola

      It was really satisfying to get so much bloggy stuff done in a week. The pesto salad was really good, I buy it quite regulary. I am hoping to try out the cookie mix soon!

      Same here, I am excited, but don’t want to get too carried away. There is so much hype already it can be a bit overwhelming.

      I am glad you liked my post on Michelle her blog, it was fun to write!
      Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #149My Profile

    • Lola

      Sorry for making you hungry! I can’t help it, I love food so much, that most of the time my pictures involve food. I don’t know what else to photograph, so far I have a movie and t-shirt picture for next week, so who knows that might be a week without food pictures. Altough the third picture probably will be food related.

    • Lola

      I like a well done setting in books, they can really add atmosphere to a story. I hope you’ll enjoy my post!

  5. Let's Get Beyond Tolerance

    Oh, I really want to read The Masked Truth. I hope you enjoy it. I like that cookie dough mix in a jar. I’ve seen those – and people make them a lot around the holidays – but I don’t now if I’ve actually made cookies with one! I might have to see if I can find a jar and check it out this year. Great job with Blog Ahead!

    -Lauren
    Let’s Get Beyond Tolerance recently posted…Let’s Discuss: The Future of This BlogMy Profile

    • Lola

      I don’t normally read thrillers, but as Kelley Armstrong has written it I had to give it a try. I hope I’ll enjoy it! I’ll have to see if I can make a cookie mix myself once. This was the first time I saw them in stores here, they would make for a great gift.

  6. Teddyree

    You’ve aced Blog Ahead, well done! I’m going to do a couple of ‘best of’ posts ahead of time too and add to them; Dec will be here before we know it. I like the cover of The Lady Who Lived Again, new-to-me book. Now I need cookie dough or cookies or both lol
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂
    Teddyree recently posted…It’s Sunday/Monday: Check-In TimeMy Profile

    • Lola

      Thanks! I am really happy with the progress I made so far! I always like those best of posts. And indeed december will be her ebefore we know it, so I am happy to have thsoe posts written already.

    • Lola

      I especially like spring and autumn, although summer and winter also have some good points. I like the opportunity to wear all my warm clothes again during winter or my summer clothes during summer. I do like it the first few weeks always when the seasons change. It’s fun to prepare for the coming season.

    • Lola

      That’s okay, not everyone blogs the same way. If I don’t schedule things ahead I am stressing, so it’s better for me to stay ahead.

      Yes I love the jar for the cookie mix, it looks so cute and festive.

      Yes you need to read one of SJ Pajones her books, they are amazing! She’s a lovely lady indeed and she writes awesome books. Her writing style is really good. You have the first Nogiku book, right?

  7. Sophia Rose

    Love that you got some tour work done and moved into getting some Blog Ahead posts.

    That’s neat that your folks took you out shopping. Winter socks and pjs are perfect and that cookie mix looks so cute even before you make it up. I’ve done mixes in a jar for presents a few times.

    Congrats on the guest post about mermaids.

    Oh, nice haul. I look forward to your thoughts on a few of those. Have a good week!
    Sophia Rose recently posted…Break Me Down by Roni LorenMy Profile

    • Lola

      It was great to be so productive! This week is a bit slower so far, but I still got a lot done so far!

      It’s almost a shame to make the cookies as the packaging looks so cute. I might try to make a cookie mix myself once too.

    • Lola

      It really helps to have the challenge recap posts done ahead and then every time you have something to add you can do so. With challenges that have monthly recaps, I always make the post for next month once the previous one has posted.

      The banana pudding was really good, will have to buy it again soon!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge