Tag: Middle Grade

Review: Love Sugar Magic A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano

Review: Love Sugar Magic A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic #1) by Anna Meriano narrated by Kyla Garcia My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Contemporary Fantasy Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: “A charming and delectably sweet debut. Mischief, friendship, and a whole lot of heart—Love Sugar Magic has it all.” —Zoraida Córdova, award-winning author of the Brooklyn Brujas series. Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival. Leo hopes that this might […]

Posted May 3, 2024 by Lola in Contemporary, Review / 4 Comments

Review: Okhéania The Tsunami by Éric Corbeyran

Review: Okhéania The Tsunami by Éric Corbeyran

Okhéania: The Tsunami (Okhéania #1) by Éric Corbeyran illustrated by Alice Picard My Rating: 3 stars Genre: Fantasy Comic Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: The planet Oceania is covered with an ocean of vegetation. Humans navigate the green seas with futuristic ships. Teenagers Jon and Jasper spend most of their days surfing the vast waves of foliage, until one day, without warning, they’re hit by a tsunami. Jon disappears beneath the leafy ocean surface and Jasper is picked up by a ship called the Poseidon. It is said that none return from the depths of this treacherous ocean. But the […]

Posted April 3, 2024 by Lola in Fantasy, Review / 0 Comments

DNF Reviews January and February 2024

DNF Reviews January and February 2024

Blogger Lisa Loves Literature inspired me to do DNF reviews again and group them in one post. I decided to do posts until I have 4 or so DNF reviews, so maybe one every few months. We’ll see. Junker Seven Junker Seven (Twin Suns #1) by Olive J. Kelley Genre: Science Fiction Age Category: Young Adult Type of romance: nb/f Blurb: A romantic, queer sci-fi epic about changing the galaxy, one girl at a time. Castor Quasar is a junker- a bounty hunter making a living off of collecting and selling valuable scrap. They live a quiet life, bouncing from […]

Posted February 28, 2024 by Lola in Contemporary, Fantasy, Historical, Review, Romance, Sci-Fi / 8 Comments

Review: The Talent Thief by Mike Thayer

Review: The Talent Thief by Mike Thayer

The Talent Thief by Mike Thayer narrated by Kate Coventry My Rating: 5 stars Genre: Contemporary Fiction with a bit of magic Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: A girl with the ability to borrow other people’s talents must use her powers to find her own spotlight in The Talent Thief, a wish-fulfilling middle-grade novel from Mike Thayer, the author of The Double Life of Danny Day. Tiffany Tudwell is cursed. She once tripped over a backpack and fell face-first into a trashcan. She had pink eye on picture day. One time she tried to hold back a sneeze and farted […]

Posted February 12, 2024 by Lola in Contemporary, Review / 4 Comments

Review: Camp QUILTBAG by Nicole Melleby and A.J. Sass

Review: Camp QUILTBAG by Nicole Melleby and A.J. Sass

Camp QUILTBAG Nicole Melleby and A.J. Sass My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Contemporary Fiction Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: From the acclaimed authors of Hurricane Season and Ana on the Edge, an unforgettable story about the importance of and joy in finding a community, for fans of Alex Gino and Ashley Herring-Blake. Twelve-year-old Abigail (she/her/hers) is so excited to spend her summer at Camp QUILTBAG, an inclusive retreat for queer and trans kids. She can’t wait to find a community where she can be herself—and, she hopes, admit her crush on that one hot older actress to kids who will […]

Posted October 9, 2023 by Lola in Contemporary, Review / 4 Comments

Review: Ellen Outside the Lines by A.J. Sass

Review: Ellen Outside the Lines by A.J. Sass

Ellen Outside the Lines A.J. Sass My Rating: 5 stars Genre: Contemporary Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: A heartfelt novel about a neurodivergent thirteen-year-old navigating changing friendships, a school trip, and expanding horizons for fans of Rain Reign and Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World. Thirteen-year-old Ellen Katz feels most comfortable when her life is well planned out and people fit neatly into her predefined categories. She attends temple with Abba and Mom every Friday and Saturday. Ellen only gets crushes on girls, never boys, and she knows she can always rely on her best-and-only friend, Laurel, to help navigate […]

Posted April 25, 2023 by Lola in Contemporary / 0 Comments

Review: The Final Trial by Kelley Armstrong

Review: The Final Trial by Kelley Armstrong

The Final Trial (Royal Guide to Monster Slaying #4) by Kelley Armstrong My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Fantasy Age Category: Middle Grade Type of romance: no romance Blurb: Rowan embarks on an expedition to prove once and for all that she is the rightful royal monster hunter, in the fourth and final book in this fantastical series by New York Times–bestselling author, Kelley Armstrong. The time has come! After discovering the true reason for the monster migration, Rowan is on an expedition to ultimately prove that she is worthy of the ebony monster-slaying sword on her back. She and her […]

Posted November 24, 2022 by Lola in Fantasy, Review / 1 Comment