Category: Mystery

Review: Massacre and Margins by A.C.F. Bookens

Review: Massacre and Margins by A.C.F. Bookens

Massacre And Margins (Poe Baxter Books #2) by ACF Bookens My Rating: 3 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: She thought she was just going to reminisce, enjoy the Northern Lights, and celebrate an author, but a murderer had other ideas. On her first trip to Iceland, Poe Baxter is excited about the scenery, the culture, and the chance to hold a rare Douglas Copeland title in her hand. But when she and her best friend Beattie try to find the woman who promised to sell them the book, they find themselves trying to […]

Posted October 19, 2022 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 2 Comments

Review: That’s the Spirit! by Mallory Pierce

Review: That’s the Spirit! by Mallory Pierce

That’s the Spirit! (GhostWriter Mystery #1) by Mallory Pierce My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Paranormal Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: He’s on a deadline; she’s just . . . dead. Brought back from the other side by a séance, Gwendolyn Frink has been roaming the halls of her family’s Victorian house for more than a century. She can’t communicate with the living, she can’t leave the premises, and she can’t stand feeling useless. Enter Nolan Drake, aka the Guru of Gore. Suffering from a wicked case of writer’s block, the best-selling horror author purchases the […]

Posted October 6, 2022 by Lola in Fantasy, Mystery, Review / 2 Comments

Review: Christmas Scarf Murder by Carlene O’Connor, Maddie Day and Peggy Ehrhart

Review: Christmas Scarf Murder by Carlene O’Connor, Maddie Day and Peggy Ehrhart

Christmas Scarf Murder by Carlene O’Connor, Maddie Day and Peggy Ehrhart My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: Stocking stuffers like handknit scarves make the coziest of Christmas gifts—unless they’re used as accessories for murder! CHRISTMAS SCARF MURDER by CARLENE O’CONNOR When grinchy thefts steal the good cheer at a local nursing home, Siobhan O’Sullivan manages to identify one missing item before Kilbane, Ireland’s Christmas tractor parade—a hideous shamrock scarf wrapped around a very dead body. Now, with her holiday farmhouse bash approaching, Siobhan must dash to stop a deadly Secret Santa […]

Posted September 27, 2022 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 0 Comments

Review: Batter Off Dead by Maddie Day

Review: Batter Off Dead by Maddie Day

Batter Off Dead (Country Store Mystery #10) by Maddie Day My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: In South Lick, Indiana, fine foods and classic cookware can be found at Robbie Jordan’s Pans ’N Pancakes. Unfortunately, her country store also seems to stock up on murder . . . Robbie and her new husband Abe O’Neill are enjoying a summer evening in the park with fellow townsfolk excited for some Friday night fireworks. In attendance are senior residents from Jupiter Springs Assisted Living including Roy Bird, father to South Lick’s very own […]

Posted September 22, 2022 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 2 Comments

Review: Steeped to Death by Gretchen Rue

Review: Steeped to Death by Gretchen Rue

Steeped to Death (Witches’ Brew Mystery #1) by Gretchen Rue My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Paranormal Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: For fans of Laura Childs and Amanda Flowers, it’s teatime in Raven Creek—but a murder at the The Earl’s Study sets the stage for an intoxicating brew of small-town chicanery with a hint of the supernatural. Phoebe Winchester’s beloved aunt Eudora has a taste for adventure—and a knack for making magical tea. It’s even rumored that she just might be a witch. So when Eudora passes away and leaves everything to her niece—her Victorian […]

Posted September 6, 2022 by Lola in Fantasy, Mystery, Review / 4 Comments

Review: Fatalities and Folios by A.C.F. Bookens

Review: Fatalities and Folios by A.C.F. Bookens

Fatalities and Folios (Poe Baxter Books Series #1) by ACF Bookens My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: Who knew that finding a rare book would also involve running for her life? When Poe Baxter fled her job as an English professor, she was thrilled to be launching into her career as an antiquarian book dealer with a trip to Edinburgh. But she soon finds that her queries into a particular book’s provenance are drawing some less desirable attention to her and her best friend Beattie. Not everyone is interested in sharing […]

Posted August 23, 2022 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 4 Comments

Review: No Parm No Foul by Linda Reilly

Review: No Parm No Foul by Linda Reilly

No Parm No Foul (Grilled Cheese Mysteries #2) by Linda Reilly My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: The second book in a delicious culinary cozy series—the muensters have arrived in Balsam Dell in this Halloween cozy mystery featuring a grilled cheese shop owner turned amateur sleuth After a long hot summer in Balsam Dell, Carly Hale is ready for crisp Vermont weather and gourmet grilled cheeses at her Grilled Cheese Eatery. And the upcoming Halloween food competition is the perfect way to impress the locals. But Ferris Menard, the owner of […]

Posted August 4, 2022 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 2 Comments