Author: Lola

Sunday Post #443

Sunday Post #443

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. What happened this week? This week started off okay, but then went downhill from there. This week has lots of small things that piled up, some bad news, things not going smoothly and so forth. Then late this week I got hit with a bad headache that lasted for days. I think […]

Posted June 13, 2021 by Lola in Sunday Post / 14 Comments

Lola’s Kitchen: Mediterranean Bean Salad Recipe

Lola’s Kitchen: Mediterranean Bean Salad Recipe

Lola’s Kitchen is a feature on Lola’s Reviews where I talk about all things related to food, cooking and baking. These posts can be recipe posts, tens list posts about food or recipes or more discussion type posts about food. I love cooking and spend some time in the kitchen almost every day, so I wanted to give it a place on my blog as well. The banner for this feature is designed by Michelle from Limabean Designs. I am not a big fan of beans or salads, but my boyfriend really likes both, so i tried this Mediterranean bean […]

Posted June 11, 2021 by Lola in Lola's Kitchen / 3 Comments

Review: Ruby Red Herring by Tracy Gardner

Review: Ruby Red Herring by Tracy Gardner

Ruby Red Herring (An Avery Ayers Antique Mystery #1) by Tracy Gardner My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: In this Avery Ayers Antique Mystery series debut, perfect for fans of Ellery Adams and Jane K. Cleland, an antiques appraiser hunts a missing gem while probing her parents’ deaths. After her parents’ deaths, Avery Ayers takes over the family business, Antiquities & Artifacts Appraised, from the home office in Lilac Grove and a branch in Manhattan. Now living back at home with her younger sister Tilly and their newly moved-in, eccentric Aunt […]

Posted June 8, 2021 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 5 Comments

Sunday Post #442

Sunday Post #442

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. What happened this week? This week it as warm here. The past few months we’ve had relatively cooler weather and then suddenly this week it felt like we were in the middle of summer. It was jarring and hard to adjust to as it was quite the temperature spike. It was a […]

Posted June 6, 2021 by Lola in Sunday Post / 12 Comments

Review: Hellbound Guilds & Other Misdirections by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen

Review: Hellbound Guilds & Other Misdirections by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen

Hellbound Guilds & Other Misdirections (The Guild Codex: Warped #2) by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Urban Fantasy Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: Agent Kit Morris. Has a nice ring, doesn’t it? It’s a big step up from “wanted criminal” or “that weird con-artist guy with weirder psychic powers,” both of which recently applied to me. But my promotion to MagiPol agent comes with a few drawbacks. First, supremely talented and effortlessly gorgeous Agent Lienna Shen won’t agree to a dinner date with me. Second, my new assignment has pitted me against […]

Posted June 5, 2021 by Lola in Fantasy, Review / 3 Comments

Review: Fronds and Enemies by H.Y. Hanna

Review: Fronds and Enemies by H.Y. Hanna

Fronds and Enemies (The English Cottage Garden Mysteries #5) by H.Y. Hanna My Rating: 2 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: Spring has come at last with cheerful daffodils and plump crocus blooms, and Poppy is hoping that the new season will magically resurrect the cottage garden nursery she’s inherited. But with her stock failing to grow and a mysterious “peeping Tom” stalking the village, she’s got her gardening gloves full… and that’s even before her visit to the local doctor ends with her stumbling on a dead body! Then her friend and neighbour […]

Posted June 2, 2021 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 2 Comments

Review: Of Kindness and Kilowatts by Susan Kaye Quinn

Review: Of Kindness and Kilowatts by Susan Kaye Quinn

Of Kindness and Kilowatts (Nothing is Promised #3) by Susan Kaye Quinn My Rating: 3 stars Genre: Science Fiction/ Hopepunk Age Category: Adult Type of romance: MF Blurb: Humanity is trapped in a loop. As the world heats, it takes more energy to keep humanity from dying—a feedback loop that makes net-zero carbon increasingly impossible to reach. Akemi’s job on the Public Utilities Commission has its own daily disasters—making sure the infrastructure of civilization keeps running is the most thankless job on the planet. When a double event hits—heatwave plus viral breakout—keeping the power on is an all-out battle. It […]

Posted May 31, 2021 by Lola in Review, Sci-Fi / 4 Comments