Review: Winter Tales from Cozy Vales

Review: Winter Tales from Cozy Vales

Winter Tales from Cozy Vales (Cozy Vales Collection #1) by L.A. Scott, Rebecca Buchanan, Selina J. Eckert, Deanna Stuart, Angela Stuart, Cassandra Stirling, K M Jackways, G Clatworthy, Nathaniel Webb and Bonnie Axton My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Cozy Fantasy Age Category: Young Adult to Adult depending on the story Type of romance: not all stories have romance, the ones that do have m/f Blurb: A delightful collection of cozy fantasy stories set in the coziest of worlds! Grab your blanket and favorite hot beverage because this anthology of cozy fantasy stories has hours of holiday reading waiting for you! […]

Posted July 17, 2024 by Lola in Fantasy, Review / 0 Comments

Review: Escape With Me by Sophia Quinn

Review: Escape With Me by Sophia Quinn

Escape With Me (King’s Inn #1) by Sophia Quinn My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Contemporary Romance Age Category: Adult Type of romance: m/f Blurb: She’s fallen for her enemy’s best friend… Bailey should’ve known he was too good to be true the moment Drew stepped foot on the inn’s property. After losing all her workers to the rival resort on the neighboring land, what were the odds that the world’s best—and yes, most handsome—handyman would just magically appear in their tiny Montana town? Handyman. Ha! More like a successful Wall Street tycoon masquerading as a jack-of-all trades. The lying hottie […]

Posted July 15, 2024 by Lola in Contemporary, Review, Romance / 1 Comment

Sunday Post #604

Sunday Post #604

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. What happened this week? What a week. We’re still dealing with the mosquito problem and it’s just been really bad some days. We might have finally figured out what’s causing it. We were killing 15-25 mosquitos per day and then the next there were just as many. We hardly got any sleep […]

Posted July 14, 2024 by Lola in Sunday Post / 7 Comments

Review: Speak Up! by Rebecca Burgess

Review: Speak Up! by Rebecca Burgess

Speak Up! by Rebecca Burgess My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Contemporary Fiction/ Graphic Novel Age Category: Middle Grade Blurb: For fans of Click and Brave, this touching coming-of-age middle grade graphic novel debut follows an autistic girl who finds friendship where she least expects it and learns to express her true self in a world where everyone defines her by her differences. Twelve-year-old Mia is just trying to navigate a world that doesn’t understand her true autistic self. While she wishes she could stand up to her bullies, she’s always been able to express her feelings through singing and songwriting, […]

Posted July 12, 2024 by Lola in Contemporary, Review / 2 Comments

Review: Murder on Devil’s Pond by Ayla Rose

Review: Murder on Devil’s Pond by Ayla Rose

Murder on Devil’s Pond (Hummingbird Hollow B&B Mystery #1) by Ayla Rose My Rating: 3 stars Genre: Cozy Mystery Age Category: Adult Type of romance: m/f Blurb: A quaint Vermont inn offers idyllic peace–until a body is found on the property–in this charming series debut, perfect for fans of Ellen Byron and Ellery Adams. When thirty-three-year-old Hannah Solace returns to her hometown to renovate and reopen the inn she co-owns with her sister Reggie, her mission is to give the old Victorian hotel an entirely new life. She’s even planting pollinator gardens around the inn–native flowers and fruit trees to […]

Posted July 10, 2024 by Lola in Mystery, Review / 1 Comment

Review: Otherworldly Izakaya Nobu 2 by Natsuya Semikawa

Review: Otherworldly Izakaya Nobu 2 by Natsuya Semikawa

Otherworldly Izakaya Nobu 2 (Otherworldly Izakaya Nobu #2) by Natsuya Semikawa (author) and Virginia Nitouhei (artist) My Rating: 4 stars Genre: Fantasy/ Manga Age Category: Adult Blurb: Japanese-style pub “Nobu” is open for business in an odd, foreign world, and the ever-welcoming Shinobu and Chief are happy to serve up unusually tasty bar food to an array of strange customers. A little thief, an obnoxious messenger, and a pair of squabbling craftsmen are all ready to chow down! Kisu tempura, sashimi, omusoba, and shuto and more are on the menu… The delicious aromas of food and drink bring everyone together […]

Posted July 8, 2024 by Lola in Fantasy, Review / 2 Comments

Sunday Post #603

Sunday Post #603

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. What happened this week? This was a bit of a tiring week. My boyfriend had an appointment and an important phone call this week. We also did some cleaning of the house again, it’s slow going, but we’re making progress. I also did some shelves in the kitchen. The weather was cooler […]

Posted July 7, 2024 by Lola in Sunday Post / 6 Comments